Why Gilbert Blythe decided to be a doctor

A fellow has to fight something all through life… didn’t somebody once define man as a fighting animal? … and I want to fight disease and pain and ignorance… which are all members one of another. I want to do my share of honest, real work in the world, Anne … add a little to the sum of human knowledge that all the good men have been accumulating since it began. The folks who lived before me have done so much for me that I want to show my gratitude by doing something for the folks who will live after me. It seems to me that is the only way a fellow can get square with his obligations to the race.

~ Anne of Avonlea, L. M. Montgomery

One thought on “Why Gilbert Blythe decided to be a doctor

Leave a Reply

