Create your own definition of success

Ultimately, I think each woman has to create her own definition of success, of Having It All. I’d like to have so much money that I could spend as freely as I wished, but unless I hit the lottery (which I don’t play), that’s not likely to happen. I’d like to have limitless time off to read books, to write, to travel, and to sit on my porch and watch the sunset every night, but unless a trust fund materializes out of the blue, that’s not likely to happen. Life is a series of tradeoffs. If I had had children, I probably would not have written my book, or at least not the kind of comprehensive, heavily researched book that I wrote. If I had been married in my twenties or thirties, I probably would not have lived in as many cities as I did and done as well in the early years of my career. If I had not been adamant about creating some balance in my life, I might have missed meeting my significant other.

~ A’Lelia Bundles

Leave a Reply

